Garbage day

Running changed me gradually – I really didn’t notice my heels becoming shorter, or my dresses morphing into stretchy pants. My once perfectly styled  Chelsea Blow-Dry slowly lost its bounce, until eventually I couldn’t remember where my round brush was.

I even let go of makeup. Trying to salvage a painted face after a workout isn’t an easy task, and I salute those who commit to it. My last holdout was mascara, which I ditched permanently after an unfortunate sweat-and-mascara-combo-in-eyes accident.

it burns

But it took spending a day with my mother to make me see just how dramatic my change really was.

It had been years since we’d had a Girls’ Day Out (otherwise known as shopping and lunch in the Big City), so one morning I called to see if she’d like to have one. My mom is, and always will be, my style icon. Even as a retiree, she rocks 4 inch heels on the regular and can still style-smash the best of the wannabe trendsetters.

When I picked her up that day, I was feeling pretty good about myself. Jeggings, riding boots, long sleeved tee, with hair pulled tightly into a bun. I was presentable.

She looked me up and down.

pajamas

When we got to the city, we made a bee-line for our favorite shops. But something was missing, and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

“What do you think of these boots?” My mom said, holding up a pair of gorgeous purple suede heels. My heart twitched.

booooootsssss

I picked them up. I looked them over. I might have even petted them. But something was wrong. “No, I don’t think I’ll get those.”

“Why not?” Mom asked.

“Well, it’s just that, after a long run, my feet and legs swell and I don’t think I could get into them.”

feverish

She looked me up and down. We moved on.

In another store, we found a gorgeous jacket. It was olive green and double-breasted with shiny brass buttons. I was in love.

“Are you going to get it?” My mom asked.

I felt a frown fall over my face as the love affair died.

“No.”

“Why not?”

“Well, I can’t stuff that in a gym locker. And I certainly can’t wear that home post-spin class, it’ll get ruined.”

She looked me up and down. We moved on.

cold gear

 

After visiting a few dozen shops, I saw it.

I give up

My feet picked up speed, and my heart pounded as my cheeks flushed with excitement. It wasn’t long before I was skipping happily along the aisles, loading my arms with compression-everything. I could barely see over the pile of lycra.

When I could hold no more, I went to the front of the store and, horrified, watched as my mom picked out a yellow crop-top hoodie and matching yellow tights.

“Here, I found you an outfit,” she said with a smile.

“But, Mom, runners don’t wear ‘outfits’.”

“Nonsense,” she replied, “and besides, you need to add some color to your workout wardrobe.”

I looked at the pile of black in my arms.

All black erry day

She had a point.

“But, Mom, you don’t understand. Black hides sweat stains!”

She shook her head. “You can’t possibly sweat that much. I’m buying it for you.”

“Mom! I’m in my 30s! I can pick out my own clothes!”

She looked me up and down. It was like I was 12 again.

“But, Mom!” I said, exasperated, “I look like GARBAGE when I run!”

She looked down at me,  perched upon her wedge heels. “There’s never a reason to look like garbage.”

pwned

And so, when I’m behind on laundry and run around the neighborhood looking like a bruised banana, I think of that day and laugh. I call these runs “taking out the trash”.

Chiquita banana

 

But, I must admit, I don’t look bad in yellow.

I love you, Mom. 🙂

 

 

Psst! You can receive automatic updates whenever there’s a new post on See Fleck Run! To follow me, in the bottom right corner of my page, click Follow.

15 thoughts on “Garbage day

  1. I have to tell you how much I love your posts. You have such a great sense of humor, and your stick figures with their conversation bubbles add to the hilarity.

    This post is so relatable for me. My husband likes to tell people about our recent trip to a certain brand’s outlet store, and how the woman in line behind us kept opening her eyes and mouth wider and wider as the total kept going up, up, up on my purchases. I will clip coupons to buy groceries, but let me loose in a store with Dri-fit and I am done!

    Such a fun post! Karen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Karen! I’m glad I’m not the only one! It’s so easy to get carried away in those stores, especially the outlets! I’m the same way – I’ll bargain hunt in some places, and then blow the budget in others. It’s highly illogical.

      Like

  2. Oh to be let loose in an American or Canadian fitness store where female workout, running, you name it attire takes up the whole floor. Here we’re lucky if it takes up 1/5 of that of the store! Even the kids sections takes up more space! But we do go for the coordinated outfits as more high street fashion shops are jumping on the fitness bandwagon. They’re cute, but they don’t feel as good as ‘proper’ sports wear. I’m babbling now, I lived all winter in Lululemon Wunder Under leggings which I never thought I’d do, but they’re so much warmer than jeans. And they’re fantastic for shopping in as you run around the shops in and out the cold. Did I say I was babbling? Great post my dear and well done for shopping with your mum. I can handle 5 minutes and I’m back to 12 wishing the floor would open up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Is it bad that I appreciate both sides of this story? I have my phases where I care about style & phases where I will wear nothing but jeans (or the nursing scrub pants I typically use for sleeping) & teeshirts I got for free.
    But for some reason I LOVE to look cute while running. With the exception of my race shirts, I all my race gear coordinates into “outfits.” But you are totally right about black…so most of my gear is black (although my favorite tank top is dark blue), but I like to find black with colored accents, especially pink & blue accents.

    Also, I died at the “what other color would I wear to my fat’s funeral” comment

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, it’s completely acceptable to appreciate both sides, RH! The truth is, I still have times when I bring back the Chelsea Blow Dry in all its glory, along with my heels and dresses (although, I stay away from the open toed heels these days, thanks to my runner’s nails), but these days are few-and-far between. So, if you enjoy coordinating your look while running, I salute you! 🙂 Glad to see you back in the blogosphere!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: A conversation with … myself | See Fleck Run

  5. Pingback: See Fleck Run! | A Fast Paced Life

Leave a Reply

